WCF Curling Awards

Frances Brodie Award

Norway’s Henriette Løvar receives the 2011 Frances Brodie Award from Danish 1998 Olympic Silver Medallist Helena Blach Lavrsen Photo: World Curling Federation/Richard Gray

Frances Brodie was the driving force behind the group which established the first World Ladies Curling Championship in 1979 and chaired the first Official Ladies Committee of the International Curling Federation (ICF), later renamed the World Curling Federation.

In 1989, her contribution to World Curling was recognised by the ICF with the introduction of an award in her name, which has been presented at the conclusion of each World Women’s Curling Championship since then.

The recipient is selected by the curlers participating in the event, to honour the curler who, “by deed and action in the course of their performance, best exemplified the traditional curling values of skill, honesty, fair play, friendship and sportsmanship.”

For many years, Frances attended these Championships to make the presentation herself, but latterly was unable to travel and nominated a member of the Ladies Branch of the Royal Caledonian Curling Club to represent her. She always wrote to the recipient to offer her personal congratulations. Since her death in 2006, a Ladies Branch representative has continued to make the presentation each year.

Winners of the Frances Brodie Award

Year Awardee (Country) Awarded at Championships in:
2010 Linn Githmark (Norway) Swift Current, Canada
2009 Marianne Rørvik (Norway) Gangneung, Korea
2008 Mirjam Ott (Switzerland) Vernon, Canada
2007 Lindsay Wood (Scotland) Aomori, Japan
2006 Junko Sonobe (Japan) Grande Prairie, Canada
2005 Cassie Johnson (United States) Paisley, Scotland
2004 Madeleine Dupont (Denmark) Gvle, Sweden
2003 Dordi Nordby (Norway) Winnipeg, Canada
2002 Mi-Yeon Kim (Korea) Bismark, USA
2001 Ann Swisshelm Silver (United States) Lausanne, Switzerland
2000 Rhona Martin (Scotland) Glasgow, Scotland
1999 Marianne Aspelin (Norway) Saint John, Canada
1998 Jackie Lockhart (Scotland) Kamloops, Canada
1997 Jaana Jokela (Finland)* Berne, Switzerland
1996 Kirsty Hay (Scotland) Hamilton, Canada
1995 Ayako Ishigaki (Japan) Brandon, Canada
1994 Helena Blach-Lavrsen (Denmark) Oberstdorf, Germany
1993 Jaana Jokela (Finland)* Geneva, Switzerland
1992 Amy Hatten Wright (United States) Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
1991 Veronika Huber (Austria) Winnipeg, Canada
1990 Almut Hege-Schöll (Germany) Vasteras, Sweden
1989 Cristina Lestander (Switzerland) Milwaukee, USA
* denotes two time winner
WCF Curling Awards

    In This Section

  • 2010 - Linn Githmark

Most viewed

  • Pacific-Asia Junior Curling Championships 2012 underway
  • Curling Milestones
  • Frances Brodie Award
  • WADA publishes 2012 Prohibited List
  • Opening Ceremony
  • Sportsmanship Awards
  • Webcast & Schedule
  • Day 7 Update - Men
  • ECC 2011 Day 3 (Evening) Update

Official WCF Partners

Official WCF Suppliers