Contact us: WCF Secretariat | webmaster

Home News Federation information Results The game Statistics Miscellaneous

WCF Awards

The Frances Brodie Award

Beginning in 1989 in Milwaukee, when the men's and women's world curling championships were combined, a "sportsmanship" award was presented to a woman curler.

The award was named after Scotland's Frances Brodie, who helped establish and chaired the first women's world curling championship in 1979 in Perth.

The selection is made by her fellow curlers in the tournament.

Year Awardee Nation
1989Cristina Lestander Switzerland
1990Almut Hege Scholl Germany
1991Veronika Huber Austria
1992Amy Hatten-Wright USA
1993Jaana Jokela Finland
1994Helena Blach Lavrsen Denmark
1995Ayako Ishigaki Japan
1996Kirsty Hay Scotland
1997Jaana Jokela Finland
1998Jacqueline Lockhart Scotland
1999Marianne Aspelin Norway
2000Rhona Martin Scotland
2001Ann Swisshelm USA
2002Mi-Yeon Kim Korea

Statistics main page


(c)2001-2003, World Curling Federation, all rights reserved. No duplication is allowed without permission.