Press and Media
Old stuff
 The game

 Site Map

Six new nations members of the WCF

by Håkan Sundström

The curling world is growing. Six new national curling associations were approved membership of the WCF when the World Curling Federation today held its Semi Annual Assembly at the Royal E Golf Hotel in Courmayeur, Italy during the week of the European Curling Championships. The new nations are:

Estonia, Ireland, Kazakstan, Lithuania, Poland and Slovakia. So now there are altogether 45 nations in the World Curling Federation.

Provisional and Full memberships

However, the semi annual assembly also approved a motion from the WCF Executive Board to introduce a two tier membership for the WCF - Provisional and Full. All the new nations accepted from the 10 December 2003 will be granted "Provisional status". Full membership will be granted after three criteria:

  • Recognition as the only organisation representing curling in that country is obtained from the National Olympic Committee (NOC), if not already received. Provisional membership will be withdrawn if the NOC of the country concerned subsequently provides recognition to another organisation.
  • Participation in a zonal qualifying competition, or challenge competition for a World Mens or Womens, or World Junior Mens or Womens Curling Championship.
  • Attendance in person by a representative at two general Assemblies of the WCF.

Provisional members would be entitled to all privileges of Full membership but without the right to propose or second motions, or to vote at General Assemblies. Provisional members would pay the same subscription as Full members.

WCF adopted the Antidoping code

The Semi Annual Assembly also approved to accept the World Anti-Doping Code as the basis for the fight against doping in sport.

World Junior Championships 2006 in Korea

Regarding future World championships the Semi annual assembly approved Jeonju in Korea as host for the 2006 World Junior Championships. In 2005 the WJCC will take place in Pinerolo, Italy, 36 kilometres southwest of Torino. The ice rink of Pinerolo is the venue for the 2006 Olympic Curling Tournament and as for the Olympic games in 1998 and 2002 the World Junior Championships will act as the Olympic test event.

The 2005 World mens championships will take place in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. The World womens championship that year will probably take place in Europe but the venue to be decided later.

In 2006 the World mens championship will be in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA and the World womens will be in Canada. For 2007 Aomori in Japan has sent in a bid for the World womens championships and the WCC men will be played in Canada.

For 2008 there are bids from Jeonju, Cortina in Italy and Grand Forks, USA.

Curling at European Youth Olympic Festival

For the first time curlers will take part in the European Youth Olympic Festival which take place in Champery, Switzerland 22-28 of January 2005. Five teams of both genders + teams of the host nations Switzerland will play and the teams shall be composed by juniors born between 1 July 1986 and 30 June 1988.

Points from the World Junior Championships in 2003 and 2004 will be used to qualify the five teams and the costs for participating will be covered by each National Olympic Committee.

For more information, contact Mike Thomson, Secretary General of the WCF, tel. +44 1738 451 630, Fax +44 1738 451 641, e-mail: wcf@dial.pipex.com


(c)2001-2004, World Curling Federation, all rights reserved. No duplication is allowed without permission.