February 7, 2006

In a joint announcement by the World Curling Federation (WCF) and the Canadian Curling Association (CCA), it was confirmed today that the 2006 Continental Cup has been awarded to Chilliwack, British Columbia.

The ‘Cup’ will be contested November 23-26, 2006 at Prospera Centre, a 5,000-seat venue which is the current home of hockey’s Chilliwack Chiefs of the BCHL and the home next year of the Chilliwack Bruins, who will play in the Western Hockey League.

The unique event, patterned after golf’s Ryder Cup, will celebrate its fourth edition in Chilliwack.  It features Team North America versus Team Europe in a four-day competition involving Team games (72 points), Mixed Doubles (36 points), Singles (32 points) and Skins games (260 points).   The first side to score 201 points is declared the winner.

“We believe that Prospera Centre is an excellent facility to stage an event such as the Continental Cup,” said Warren Hansen, Manager of Event Operations and Media for the Canadian Curling Association.  “Chilliwack has wanted to host a major curling event for some time and we feel the Continental Cup is perfect for this area.”

This fourth Continental Cup follows on the heels of the inaugural event in Regina in 2002, the 2003 edition in Thunder Bay and the 2004 renewal in Medicine Hat.

“Mike McAstocker and myself, as co-chairs, look forward to leading the Chilliwack Curling Club's local committee in bringing the Continental Cup to the city of Chilliwack,” said Terry Bodman. “This is a unique opportunity not only to work with the Canadian Curling Association to promote the sport of curling but also to showcase our great community and its facilities.

“Chilliwack has gained the reputation of having a core of competent volunteers and this will be a chance for them to again be involved in a significant event,” continued Bodman.  “We are excited at the prospect of providing this world class competition for the enjoyment of our community." 

Event ticket packages are expected to go on sale in early March. 

Team North America will be composed of four teams from Canada and two from the United States.   The Canadian representatives will be determined from the results of the recently-completed Strauss Canada Cup in Kamloops, the upcoming Olympic Winter Games in Italy, the Ford world women’s championship in Grande Prairie in March and the world men’s championship in Lowell, Massachusetts in April.   An announcement regarding Team North America’s line-up is expected to be made in May.”

The United States Curling Association will select the U.S. teams for Team North America, while Team Europe will be determined by the World Curling Federation and several of its member curling federations and associations.

CBC-TV owns the television rights for the Continental Cup, but details about specific coverage have yet to be finalized.  Details about prize money for the Continental Cup have also not yet been finalized.

The ‘Continental Divide’, the entertainment centre for the event, will be located in the adjoining ice rink.

Some of the world’s best curling teams have competed in the Continental Cup in its first three editions…ones skipped by Canada’s Kevin Martin, Randy Ferbey, Kelley Law and Colleen Jones, Norway’s Pål Trulsen and Dordi Nordby, Sweden’s Elisabet Gustafson, Anette Norberg and Peja Lindholm, Scotland’s Rhona Martin, Jackie Lockhart and Hammy McMillan and Debbie McCormick of the United States.

In 2002, Team North America edged Team World in the ‘Cup’ debut, 207-193 on points, decided by a thrilling men’s Skins game final between Kevin Martin and Peja Lindholm, which went down to last rock.

In 2003, Team Europe turned the tables, winning 208-179 in Thunder Bay while in 2004, Team North America recaptured the title by a 228-172 score at the tremendously successful event in Medicine Hat. 

Chilliwack is also getting ready to host the upcoming British Columbia provincial men’s curling championship, February 15-19 at the Chilliwack Curling Club, which will determine the province’s representative for the Tim Hortons Brier, March 11-19 in Regina.

Warren Hansen
Manager of Event Operations and Media
Canadian Curling Association

Cell: 604-329-9850  

Terry Bodman
Host Committee Co-Chair, 2006 Continental Cup


Home: 604-858-7300
Cell:    604-997-7225

Mike McAstocker
Host Committee Co-Chair, 2006 Continental Cup


Home: 604-858-3791
Cell: 604-997-3535


(c)2001-2006, World Curling Federation, all rights reserved. No duplication is allowed without permission.