Press and Media
Old stuff
 The game

 Site Map

Belgium and Serbia-Montenegro new members of the World Curling Federation

by Håkan Sundström, WCF Media Relations Officer

Two new nations were adopted new members of the World Curling Federation, WCF,  when the General Assembly of the WCF today took place at Hotel Holiday Inn, Glasgow airport in Scotland.

Belgium got membership for the second time. Belgium was a member until the year 2000 when their previous curling association ceased curling activities.

However, curling is now being played in Belgium again and a new Belgium Curling Association has been founded. Serbia-Montenegro was adopted as the 46th member nation of the WCF. Mexico, which has been a member since 1991 was excluded because of not paying their subscriptions for a long period of years.

New fiscal year

The General Assembly approved a motion from Warren Lowe, USA, the WCF Director of Finance, to change the fiscal year from 1/1 – 31/12 to 1/7 – 30/6. The reason is that the new fiscal year are more suitable for the curling playing season.

Future venues

Earlier in the week the WCF Executives had announced that Grand Forks in North Dakota, USA will host the 2008 World Men´s Curling Championship. The 2008 women will take place in Canada. Venue to be decided later.

There were also reports from venues that already have been appointed hosts for the World Championships. Lowell, USA for 2006 men, Grand Prairie, Canada for the 2006 women, Jeonju, Korea for the 2006 World Junior Championships,  Aomori, Japan for the 2007 women.

The 2007 men will take place in Canada and right now there are negotiations with Edmonton as host city. Edmonton had recently organised a very successful Brier but the city has never before hosted any international curling championship.

Roy Sinclair, the WCF President, also reported that he had send in a request to the International Olympic Committee to approve an individual curling event for men and women at the Olympic programme for Vancouver 2010.

Les Harrison, the WCF Vice President, reported that Torino had been selected as host city for the 2007 University Games and then the curling event will take place in the Olympic curling arena in Pinerolo.

The university curling games are limited to 10 teams of each gender. The qualification criteria will be the rankings of the 2003 university games, the WJCC in 2005 and 2006 and the WCC in 2005 and 2006.


(c)2001-2006, World Curling Federation, all rights reserved. No duplication is allowed without permission.