Press and Media
Old stuff
 The game

 Site Map

Press information

Inaugural Keg Continental Cup of Curling set for Regina

by Jeff Timson, St Clair's Group.

October 10, 2002

The world’s finest curlers will compete in the inaugural Keg Continental Cup, November 7-10 at the Agridome in Regina.

Patterned after golf’s Ryder Cup, The Keg Continental Cup, sanctioned by the World Curling Federation (WCF), USA Curling and the Canadian Curling Association (CCA), will offer a total prize package of $200,000 (Cdn), of which the winning side receives $125,000, while the losing side shares $75,000.

Twelve teams, six representing Team North America and six carrying the colours of Team World, will contest a variety of competitions…Mixed Doubles, Team, Singles and Skins events. Each competition is weighted on a points basis. The side which earns 201 of the 400 available points will be declared the champion. The points breakdown is as follows: Doubles (36), Team (72), Singles (32) and Skins (260).

TSN will provide complete television coverage across Canada of the ‘Cup’, beginning Thursday, November 7. More than 30 hours of live coverage is planned for the four-day event.

The line-up is a who’s who of the current curling world. From Canada are teams skipped by the 2002 Ford Worlds men’s champion Randy Ferbey, 2002 Olympic silver medallist Kevin Martin, 2002 Olympic bronze medallist and 2000 world champion Kelley Law and 2001 world champion Colleen Jones. Rounding out Team North America, which will be captained by two-time (1980, 1994) world champion Rick Folk, are United States skips Patti Lank, 1999 Worlds runner-up and Paul Pustovar, fourth place finisher at the 2002 Worlds.

Team World is headed by 2002 Olympic gold medallist skips Pâl Trulsen of Norway and Rhona Martin of Scotland, along with two-time world champion (1997, 2001) Peja Lindholm and four-time world champion (1992, 1995, 1998, 1999) Elisabet Gustafson of Sweden. They are joined by 2002 Olympic silver medallist Luzia Ebnöther from Switzerland and 1999 world champion Hammy McMillan of Scotland. Kristian Soerum, the 1979 world champion, will captain Team World.

The Team and Mixed Doubles events will take place on Thursday, November 7 and Friday, November 8. The Singles competition, similar to the Ford Hot Shots, which is contested annually at the Scott Tournament of Hearts and Nokia Brier, is slated for Saturday morning, while the Skins events will be held on Saturday and Sunday.

For media interested in attending The Keg Continental Cup, please fill in the attached form and either e-mail or fax it to the appropriate address/number. You’ll then receive a confirmation letter providing you with access to the media room in order to pick up your event credentials.

If you require accommodation, the media hotel is the Delta Regina, (306)-525-5255 or 1-800-209-3555, with a daily room rate of $110.00 plus taxes. A limited number of media rooms has been reserved until October 22.

The Keg Steakhouse & Bar, one of Canada’s most popular restaurant chains, recently became the title sponsor of the Continental Cup, while Mitchell’s Gourmet Foods will be the presenting sponsor.

Daily competition results will be posted on both the Canadian Curling Association (www.curling.ca) and host committee websites (http://www.continentalcup.ca/). For ticket information, contact the Regina Agridome box office at (306) 781-9300 or 1-888-734-3975.

Draw Times: All times Central (CT); ET: + 1 hour

Thursday, November 7

10:00 am Three women’s team games
3:00 pm Mixed doubles
6:30 pm Three men’s team games

Friday, November 8

10:00 am Three women’s team games
3:00 pm Mixed doubles
6:30 pm Three men’s team games

Saturday, November 9

9:30 am Singles
1:30 pm Two women’s skins games
6:00 pm Two men’s skins games

Sunday, November 10

10:00 am Final women’s skins game
3:00 pm Final men’s skins game
6:00 pm Closing ceremony

For further information:

Jeff Timson
Media Director, St. Clair Group
Tel/fax: 905-881-8322

Media form for requesting accreditation to the Continental Cup (Word Document)


(c)2001-2004, World Curling Federation, all rights reserved. No duplication is allowed without permission.